You are viewing an archived version of CBSE 2005. This page has been archived via the Internet Archive Wayback Machine for the ICSA conference series history. Some links on this page might not work.
← return to the ICSA homepage.

Co-Located with ICSE-2005

Goals and Scope
CBSE 2005 Program
Chair & Committees


Eighth International SIGSOFT Symposium on
Component-based Software Engineering (CBSE 2005): Software Components at Work



We thank the participants of the 2005 CBSE Symposium for another event filled with interesting discussions on both the state-of-the-art research and state-of-the-practice experience in Component-Based Software Engineering.

The proceedings are available online via SpringerLink, Springer's online electronic library of proceedings.

By July 1st 2005, we will post a set of slides documenting the discussions of the symposium as well as a full collection of slide presentations from the participants.

George Heineman
Program Chair, CBSE 2005
May 24 2005

Goals and Scope

Component-based Software Engineering (CBSE) is concerned with the development of software intensive systems from reusable parts (components), the development of reusable parts, and system maintenance and improvement by means of component replacement and customization. A long-standing theme of the CBSE series is to promote a science and technology foundation for achieving predictable quality in software systems through the use of software component technology and its associated software engineering practices. CBSE 2005, "Software Components at Work," continues this theme, but with a special emphasis on the application of software components to real-world problems. Reports on the success and failure of CBSE to large-scale performance-critical systems are an essential ingredient to improving the state of the art and practice of CBSE. The ICSE CBSE symposium has a track record of bringing together researchers and practitioners from a variety of disciplines to promote a better understanding of CBSE from a diversity of perspectives, and to engage in lively discussion and debate.

CBSE 2005 is open to all participants interested in CBSE and related areas. The symposium addresses participants from both universities and industry.

CBSE 2005 Program

Day 1 - Saturday May 14th 2005
9:00-9:15 15 min. Welcome & opening session – George Heineman
9:15-10:30 75 min. Keynote Speaker: Dave Thomas
Dave Thomas Dave is best known as the founder and past CEO and president of Object Technology International Inc. (formerly OTI, now IBM OTI Labs) and led the commercial introduction of object and component technology.

Dave was the principal visionary and architect for IBM VisualAge Smalltalk and Java tools and virtual machines including the initial work on popular multi-language IDE.

Dave is an adjunct research professor at Carleton University, and the University Of Queensland and is widely published in the software engineering literature. He is a popular humorous albeit opinionated keynote speaker. Dave writes expert columns in Otland Online in Germany, and the Journal Of Object Technology in Switzerland where he also serves on the editorial board.
10:30-11:00 30 min. Coffee break
11:00-12:30 90 min. Papers Session 1 – Presentations
Moderator: Heinz Schmidt
Papers Session 2 – Presentations
Moderator: Kurt Wallnau
12:30-14:00 90 min. Lunch
14:00-15:30 90 min. Papers Session 1 – Discussions
Moderator: Heinz Schmidt
Papers Session 2 – Discussions
Moderator: Kurt Wallnau
15:30-16:00 30 min. Coffee break
16:00-17:30 90 min. Discussion – Moderator: Clemens Szyperski
17:30-19:00 90 min. Reception
19.30   Dinner for PC


Day 2 - Sunday May 15th 2005
9:00-9:30 30 min. Summary from the first day - Kurt Wallnau
9:30-10:30 60 min. CBSE Grand Challenges
10:30-11:00 30 min. Coffee break
11:00-12:30 90 min. Paper Session 3 – Presentations
Moderator: Ivica Crnkovic
Paper Session 4 – Presentations
Moderator: Judith Stafford
12:45-14:00 75 min. Lunch
14:00-15:30 90 min. Paper Session 3 – Discussions
Moderator: Ivica Crnkovic
Paper Session 4 – Discussions
Moderator: Judith Stafford
15:30-16:00 30 min. Coffee break
16:00-17:30 90 min. Discussion – Moderator: Clemens Szyperski
17:30-18:00 30 min. Conclusion and Closing session - George Heineman





Chair and Committees


Program Chair
George Heineman
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
E-mail: heineman (at)

Organizing & Steering Committee
Ivica Crnkovic
Mälardalen University, Sweden
E-mail: ivica.crnkovic (at)

Heinz Schmidt
Monash University, Australia
E-mail: hws (at)

Judith Stafford
Tufts University, U.S.A.
E-mail: jas (at)

Clemens Szyperski
Microsoft Research, U.S.A.
E-mail: cszypers (at)

Kurt Wallnau
Software Engineering Institute
Carnegie Mellon University, U.S.A.
E-mail: kcw (at)

Program Committee
Rob Armstrong, Sandia National Laboratories, U.S.A.
Uwe Aßmann, Dresden University of Technology, Germany
Jakob Axelsson, Volvo Car Corporation, Sweden
Mike Barnett, Microsoft Research, U.S.A.
Judith Bishop, University of Pretoria, South Africa
Jan Bosch, Nokia Research Center, Finland
Michel Chaudron, University Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Luca de Alfaro, University of California, Santa Cruz, U.S.A.
Susan Eisenbach, Imperial College University, U.K.
Wolfgang Emmerich, University College London, U.K.
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames, U.S.A.
Richard Hall, LSR-IMAG, France
Dick Hamlet, Portland State University, U.S.A.
Tom Henzinger, EPFL, Switzerland and UC Berkeley, U.S.A.
Paola Inverardi, University of L'Aquila, Italy
Bengt Jonsson, Uppsala University, Sweden
Magnus Larsson, ABB, Sweden
Kung-Kiu Lau, University of Manchester, U.K.
Nenad Medvidović, University of Southern California, U.S.A.
Rob van Ommering, Philips Research, The Netherlands
Otto Preiss, ABB Corporate Research Centers, Switzerland
Ralf Reussner, University of Oldenburg, Germany
Douglas Schmidt, Vanderbilt University, U.S.A.
Jean-Guy Schneider, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Dave Wile, Teknowledge, Corp., U.S.A.